our people

Ventria Board

Board of Directors

William W. Crouse
Mr. Crouse is a retired Managing General Partner of Healthcare Ventures, which led the strategic development and management of more than 100 companies with a combined market capitalization exceeding $60 billion.  Examples of HealthCare Ventures companies include Human Genome Sciences, MedImmune (acquired by Astra Zeneca), Novazyme (acquired by Genzyme), Shire, Dendreon, and FoldRx, (acquired by Pfizer).  Prior to joining HealthCare Ventures, he was Worldwide President of Ortho Diagnostic Systems and a Vice President of Johnson & Johnson International from 1987 to 1993. He currently serves on the Board of Directors for The Medicines Company, and 3 private biotech companies. He also serves as an Advisory Board Member of Windham Venture Partners.

Scott E. Deeter
Mr. Deeter is the Company’s Chief Executive Officer. He serves as a Director of Iteris, Inc. (NASDAQ: ITI), the global leader in applied informatics for transportation and agriculture. Previously, he started and led a joint venture between Cargill and F. Hoffmann-La Roche that commercialized pharmaceutical intermediates and functional food ingredients. He served as President and CEO of CyberCrop and was a member of the Technology and Life Sciences Group of Salomon Brothers. He is a graduate of the University of Kansas (BSc-Economics); University of Chicago (MBA); and London School of Economics (MSc-Economics).

William H. Rutter, Esq.,
Mr. Rutter is an entrepreneur who has successfully developed a series of companies in diverse businesses including oil and gas, beverages, restaurants, and brew pubs. He formerly practiced law with the Denver, Colorado firm of Sherman & Howard. He also is President of Moab Music Festival, Inc. a 501(c)(3) charitable organization that produces a chamber music festival each year in Moab, Utah.

William J. Rutter, PhD
Dr. Rutter is Chairman and CEO of Synergenics, LLC, a consortium of companies which receive financial support, legal, and strategic scientific and business advice and services. Previously, Dr. Rutter cofounded Chiron Corporation in 1981 and served as its executive chairman until 1999. He served as Chairman of the Department of Biochemistry at UCSF from 1969-1982, and head of the Hormone Research Institute from 1982-1989. His lab is recognized for contributions to development of recombinant DNA technologies and some of its early achievements, including the cloning of the insulin gene and the development of a vaccine for hepatitis B. He is a member of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. He has received numerous honors including the Heinz Award; the Bower Award and Prize for Achievement in Science from the Franklin Institute; and the Biotechnology Heritage Award.

Thomas N. Urban, Jr.
Mr. Urban served as the Chairman and CEO of Pioneer Hi-Bred International Inc. (now part of Corteva Agriscience) from 1984 to 1996 and was its President from 1979 through 1996. He was a Visiting Professor of Harvard University’s Graduate School of Business from 1995 to 1997. He served as a Board Member of Sigma-Aldrich Corporation from 1990 to 2001 and Case Corporation from 1995 to 1998. Mr. Urban is a board member and previously served as Chairman of the Carnegie Institution of Washington and served on the Board of Trustees for the National Academy of Sciences Board on Agriculture. He is a board member of the National Tropical Botanic Garden and served as Chairman from 2005 to 2009.

Pablo Valenzuela, Ph.D.
Dr. Pablo D. T. Valenzuela cofounded and was Vice President of R & D for Chiron Corporation. At Chiron, he was responsible for the development of biotech products with a market value of nearly $8 billion and inventor in more than 50 patents in Chile and abroad. He led a group responsible for developing the vaccine for hepatitis B, the world’s first recombinant vaccine. Also, under his direction, scientists cloned and sequenced the genome of HIV, discovered the virus for hepatitis C, and developed a robust production system for several recombinant proteins. Dr. Valenzuela founded GrupoBios S.A., the first biotech company in Chile and in 1997 he cofounded Fundación Ciencia & Vida. He is Professor of Universidad Católica and Universidad Andrés Bello. He previously was Professor of Biochemistry at UCSF. He is a member of the Chilean Academy of Sciences. He was given the Chilean National Award for Applied Sciences.